Al Zatkow
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
Admin
Admin
https://alzatkow.forumotion.com

What Engine Should We Use?  Empty What Engine Should We Use?

Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:29 am
Hello team,

So we've been using Unity, but a recent debate has begun about a potential switch to Unreal 4. We need to make a decision as a team about this, but I wanted to use the forum to allow everyone to state their opinion -- the pros and cons of each engine -- and then once we have had a chance to absorb that information, we will simply do a vote and the winning engine will be the one that we use.

As a writer, I don't really use either engine. I have found a free dialogue system program for Unreal 4, so that's exciting to me. There are plenty of dialogue systems out there, they average $50 so if we stick with Unity and decide to use the dialogue system -- which I am heavily leaning towards -- we will have that shared team cost.

So that's my 2 cents about which engine I would prefer. But, I will not be working within the engine, and the thoughts and opinions of the programming and art team members is essential for this conversation. So, everyone, please participate.

Thanks,
Alan
mtippaart
mtippaart

What Engine Should We Use?  Empty Re: What Engine Should We Use?

Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:54 am
Personally I'd use Unreal. Not just because I am more familiar with it, although that does make up about 80% of my reasoning, but there is support in the form of the Unreal Marketplace. I am unsure if Unity has a store or market with user submitted content, but there is so much in the Marketplace made by users everyday that we can instantly add to our game. Recently I purchased blueprints on how to make Turn-based strategy games and a card game generator. The store isn't limited to blueprints though as you can also purchase sound effects, UI designs and more!
Cparsons
Cparsons

Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:13 am